The tedious bit

It’s been a long time since I posted anything on the blog. That’s because I’ve been in a mad rush trying to finish reading throught the documents in my allocation of 20 boxes. Then I got caught up in the fervour of putting them all into order on paper and compiling a catalogue, which was, although it may sound incredibly dull, unbelievably satisfying. Now i have a draft catalogue, and I’m in the process of getting the documents in order, verifying what I’ve written along the way.

I’d anicipated that putting the catalogue together would take a while, but I flew through that in a weekend and it was a lovely process. By arranging the information sheets I’d prepared into categories, and then into date order, I started to get a true sense of what was there, and was able to see that I must be doing something right when a document from one box suddenly came next to a document from another, which it should do because one was written the day after the other and on the same subject.

But now I’m on the really dull part – I’m boxing the documents, and boy does it take time. Each document has to be wrapped in acid-free paper, numbered, often many times, and put into boxes. I thought I’d fly through this part, and i’d hoped to post a copy of the catalogue, but it’s taking me forever. There isn’t anything particularly exciting I can write about this part either, so it’ll be silence from me for the next few weeks. One thing that’s quite nice though is to see the documents in their final resting place, knowing they are safe, preserved and most importantly soon to be available to everyone, meaning that people can finally reserach an reveal some of the fantastic histories they contain.

Here’s a geeky image of a completed box, to give you a glimpse of what I’m doing at the moment. Next time you hear from me I hope I’ll have a lovely catalogue to share.

20121204-155657.jpg

Leave a Reply

