Pickled eel anyone?

Just found this recipe dating from, I would guess, late 18th/early 19th Century. Apart from the fact that the main ingredient is eel, it actually sounds quite nice!

Funny name though – collar eel. Would that be because they are bound tightly with tape, and therefore look like a collar?

2 responses to “Pickled eel anyone?

  1. Trilobites ? Fossil remains of an extinct marine creature. The Victorians were keen on fossils and displayed them to inpress visitors so I guess this would have been a display case. Love the blog !

    • Hi Karen, thanks for your comment 🙂

      I think you may well be right, and I wonder if it’s still there, and whether its locked! I found lots of keys yesterday and I couldn’t help but wonder if any of them belonged to some kind of cabinet that had been locked for 100 or so years, and if so, what could be inside?! Bit of an over-fertile imagination I think!

      Thanks again, Cat

Leave a Reply

